Saturday, April 19, 2008

Kentucky Passes Stronger Child Sex Abuse Law

Kentucky Gov. Steve Beshear signed bill 211 into law on Monday and this law will go into effect on July 1.

The new law makes sex abuse of a child up to 16 years old, a felony. It extends to 18 if the abuser is an authority figure, like a teacher or pastor. [...]

The new law will also give young victims more time to report the crime. Currently, any victim over the age of 12 has one year to report the abuse. This new law gives them 5 years to report it after they turn 18.

This limit of 1 year for reporting should be eliminated everywhere for sexual abuse and for rape even when the victim is an adult. I've blogged about it before, but because of the 1 year reporting requirement, my rapist was free and clear before I finished my first year of high school.

Those who are raped in conjunction with relationship abuse may not feel safe reporting until they are out of that abusive relationship. If the reporting time limitation doesn't exist on non-sexual crimes it shouldn't exist on sex crimes.

Hat tip: Sex Crimes

Technorati tags:

Labels:

Bookmark and Share
posted by Marcella Chester @ 2:28 PM   0 comments links to this post

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home